Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals ( coal, diamonds, copper, uranium, … ) in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion. [664]

Space research for various minerals is considered a worthwhile venture by many, while the same notion is heavily refuted by others. In this essay, both given viewpoints will be thoroughly discussed, after which, my stance will be stated and proven. On the one hand, the discovery of new mineral sources can help eradicate contemporary world problems and fuel scientific advancement. First, renewable and environmentally friendly energy sources may be found by space researchers, thereby averting eminent energy crises and mitigating environmental contamination on Earth. Moreover, scientists can utilize the novel minerals to facilitate their understanding of other planets. This knowledge not only paves the way for space travelers but also expedites the search for new liveable habitats for humans once the Earth becomes overcrowded. On the other hand, critics point out that this research would have unfair, unethical, and unpredictable repercussions. Regarding space travelers, they may have to sacrifice their lives due to radiation, the lack of oxygen, and space debris for the sake of others on Earth. Were new minerals successfully found, only the top developed countries, which have advanced space industries, would get access to those resources. The likelihoods are that they would be capitalized and may be unaffordable for the underprivileged population. In extreme cases, this could potentially lead to conflicts and wars over possession of new minerals. In conclusion, both schools of thought have their own justifications; however, I yield to the former idea on the grounds of its long-term values that can expand our knowledge horizons and revolutionise our ways of life.