disadvantages and advantages of universal healthcare.[772]

Money has always been a controversial topic when it comes to every aspect of life, and healthcare is not excluded. While some people believe that medical bills should be of the government’s responsibility instead of individuals, the others think that people should pay the costs themselves. From my perspective, I am more convinced of the latter opinion. In what follows, both views will be discussed and I will give relevant evidence to substantiate my stance. On the one hand, it is argued by some that healthcare should be free for everyone. Admittedly, this statement is valid to certain extent. In fact, everyone has the right to get access to available healthcare innovations. However, considering the significant costs in many developed countries such as The US or Canada, poor people have difficulty gaining proper treatment. As a result, the idea of free medical services seems to provide humans, especially underprivileged ones, with more opportunities to overcome their illnesses. Furthermore, medical bankruptcy could be prevented if a universal healthcare policy is established. What I mean is that many individuals have to file for bankruptcy since they could not afford the medical debt. Therefore, they hope that a free healthcare could rule out, or at least minimize the considerable costs of medical treatment. On the other hand, I myself believe that universal healthcare causes more problems rather than helps solve the existing ones. First of all, free medical treatment would raise costs for the federal government and, in turn, taxpayers. To illustrate, the government’s budget is limited and it could not cover all expenses from medical care. As a consequence, the authorities would have to establish new financing mechanisms such as introducing new taxes or issuing debt to maintain their budget, which unfortunately have no difference from paying medical costs at all. Secondly, free healthcare may create inaquedacy to meet increased demand from patients. In fact, when people have to pay for their medicine, the demand is controlled which guarantees the supply of doctors and equipment. In contrast, a single-payer system would result in an unprecedented disparity between demand and supply, resulting in risk of bribery or corruption as well. In conclusion, while universal medicine might have certain positive impacts on humankind, it still lacks the ability to overshadow the problems it may cause. Although it sounds ideal when people do not have to pay for their treatments, I think practicality should be taken into consideration first.