Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, a very small number of languages are more and more spoken in many countries while the usage of others is rapidly decreasing. Personally, I think that this is both positive and negative development. I shall explain them in more detail in this essay. To begin, a few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries which brings benefits because it makes communication between people and people all over the world to become more easily but no need to learn all languages. This helps individuals as well as organizations have had big benefits in education, career, business, travelling, and so on. For instance, nowadays, If you speak English well, you can speak with not only people living in the UK but also people living in different countries worldwide who can speak English. This helps you both save time in learning a lot of languages and provides many opportunities in education and career such as studying or working overseas. Consequently, enlarging the knowledge and experience of individuals. Another example, English can help companies expand their market globally. As a result, enhancing the economy of a nation. On the other hand, a significant drop in the usage of other languages brings a negative development to the nation's culture and relationship values between generations in those nations. To illustrate, In my country, Vietnam, many children who are studying in international schools speak and read Vietnamese not well. This has encouraged these children to study Western rather than Vietnamese culture. Additionally, they have difficulty communicating with the older generation who do not know English such as their grandparents. This leads to a decrease in the quality of relationships between generations. In conclusion, in this essay, I believe that many people living in different countries all over the world can speak a few popular languages such as English, Chinese, and so on. This not only leads to the advantages of growing the knowledge as well as experience of individuals and improving the economy of a nation but also disadvantages of a decrease in the quality of relationships between generations and the gradually losing culture.