It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree? [989]

Many people hold a school of thought that the extinction of the Earth’s fauna is cyclical and inevitable to justify their refutation of the prevention attempts against this phenomenon. This line of reasoning is, however, completely against my stance for the following reasons. In the past, it is true that naturally occurring climatic events, as observed in the Ice Age, have caused the extinction of animal species, leading to the conclusion that the current fauna extinction is a natural occurrence. Reality, however, shows that man-made contaminants such as carbon dioxide and methane are actually the major driving forces of such a disappearance. Not only do these poisonous gases worsen air pollution but they also exacerbate global greenhouse effect- the main reason for melting Polar ice sheets and rising sea levels. As a grave consequence, animals face habitat losses and are pushed to the brink of extinction. Another misconception borne by critics of animal extinction is that there is no point in fending off such a process. This notion, nonetheless, fails to take into account the long-term repercussions of this phenomenon. In fact, without the smallest component in the animal food chains, every flora and fauna inch closer to extinction. For example, if oysters were to disappear, their predators will starve, oceanic debris will accumulate, and the oceans would be prone to eutrophication, contributing to the feedback loop of marine destruction. If prolonged, similar events might even eradicate biological systems while destroying our living environments for good. In conclusion, humans have toxified the Earth at the expense of the atmosphere, nature, and their own homes on Earth. Moreover, if nature is left to wither, our own offsprings would be those who gravely suffer.