Some individuals argue that governments should allocate more funding to railways rather than roads due to the former's higher capacity for transporting goods and passengers. discuss both views

Some argue that governments should invest more money in railway transport systems than roads because railways have a larger capacity for carrying products and travellers. While others say that it is not necessary for the government to invest in roads. Although trains are faster and more convenient for long journeys, I believe roads should also be invested in, as bad roads endanger the lives of their users. On the one hand, the main reason why the government should allocate lots of funds to the railway transportation system is that passengers embarking on long-distance journeys would rather commute by train in contrast to roads because it is quicker and more comfortable. In addition, when the government spends more money on this means of transportation, carriage of plentious goods will be made much easier than in cars. For example, the UK Government spends a significant amount of pounds on transportation as London has one of the best commuting networks in the world. However, I believe the government should also allocate funds to the road transport network because roads are also a major route of transportation. On the other hand, another benefit of the government spending more funds on the road networking system is to help more people travel by road and bad roads pose risks to the lives of citizens by causing accidents. Gridlock is also a common problem of damaged roads. Moreover, the government should invest in constructing better roads and improving road services to prevent such awful occurrences from happening. For example, transportation makes up about 40% of Nigeria's national yearly budget, and the government strives to improve and develop road transport annually in order to prevent disasters on the road. I believe this school of thought is preferable because roads are also a major means of transportation. In conclusion, while it is more beneficial to fund the railway transport system compared to roads because trains carry more people and heavier loads, I believe that a significant amount of money should also be invested in roads because they are equally important as well.