Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

It is widely believed that many cities in the world are dealing with the lack of accommodations. There are a number of reasons behind this point of view and several solutions should be taken into consideration to change these oppositional attitudes. On the one hand, one of the primary reason is the growth of the population. With the development of modern technology, people nowadays have a longer life expectancy which means that there are fewer deaths, and as a result, the number of people in our society is expanding rapidly. Another reason for causing a housing shortage is cities attract more and more people to live in. For instance, people from rural and mountainous areas move to cities because of their convenience and flexibility. Moreover, they are looking for better education and job opportunities. Therefore, cities are the best choices. There are several solutions to tackle these serious problems. One of the significant solutions is to construct more properties. The government should carry out more building plans such as skyscrapers and high-rise buildings which need fewer areas, and more living places that citizens are able to rent or buy. Another solution is to promote the countryside with better infrastructure. As a result, the individuals will be motivated to work in their hometowns. To draw the conclusion, the rapid growth of the population and the migration from rural areas lead to the cause of housing shortage. However, this can be solved by constructing buildings and improving facilities in the suburban areas.