Some people think that in this modern world getting old is entirely bad. However, other people believe that the life of old people is much better now than it was in the past. Discuss both points and give your opinion.

Nowadays, some individuals have the perception of growing old as not good while others think that being an elderly person is the way to go as compared to years ago. This essay will discuss these two issues. In my opinion, I think being old is a drawback. On the one hand, being an old person in this modern era has some drawbacks. One no longer has the energy they used to have when they were young. Further, they are prone to many diseases like prostate cancer for men. Furthermore, they lose things like memory, hair, weight, teeth and sight, just to mention a few. The elders always need someone to take care of them. For those who are old, people will take them to places where they do not want to go. Additionally, old people need medical care and attention always. For example, some are taken to old people ’s homes even without their consent because, there will be people who are paid to take care of them, hence, I think being elderly is a drawback. On the other hand, grandparents are a blessing to all. All they care about is their family and just having a relaxed life. Moreso, they help take care of the grandchildren. In addition, most of them have acquired lots of experience in life so they become good and wise mentor to the younger generation. Additionally, because of the assets they would have acquired, they leave it as an inheritance to their children and grandchildren. In businesses, the old people train the younger ones. They help people preserve their cultures and customs. For instance, in African countries, elderly people have a special part to play in traditional celebrations where they are given time to teach people about their traditions. In conclusion, people think that being an old person in this modern era is bad because they face many health challenges, and they need more attention and medication. Others think it is better than it was before because they have fewer things to worry about. All they care of is their family and being a blessing to them by leaving an inheritance for them and impacting their knowledge, and wisdom.