Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is debatable whether online friendships are as significant as offline ones. I strongly agree with the point of view that online bonds are less effective than in-person friends because of identity and stability issues. To begin with, fake representation can be considered the main issue behind making virtual pals less worthy than face-to-face friends. For example, meticulous research conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 stated that 70% of people in the UK were keenly more interested in making friends in their society than online because most of them got cheated by fake online friends. Since people are oblivious to the reality of an online pal, they can never share their personal information due to the threat of being hacked and tracked. Hence, to protect themselves from unknown dangerous people, face-to-face friendship is a far better option. Additionally, online friendship may contain the least presence of the stability of bonds. For instance, if friends get angry at each other, one click on the block button can end their relationship and they have no other way to connect with each other. What is more, it can be very stressful for a friend when his friend is online but not replying. This situation can seldom arise in offline friendships as they can visit each other's homes and can ask for the reason behind it, which can increase a sense of stability in their togetherness. To conclude, I acknowledge that although online friendships may have some positive aspects, they can never be as relevant as in-person friendships due to the lack of solidity and personal identification.