Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the biggest environmental problem is the extinction of many species of plants and animals, while others say that there are more important problems like air pollution and global warming. While the loss of diversity of species can be a very serious problem, I believe that global warming and air pollution together make up a more significant trouble. The loss of only one species can impact the local ecosystem in a bad way. Because all animals and plants take an important role in a local ecosystem. If we take out only one from the local system, it will break the whole food chain. For example, in the 20th century local people from one village in Uzbekistan destroyed all sparrows in the surrounding area. Lately, it caused an overpopulation of insects, which destroyed a harvest of wheat. However, I think that even if the loss of one species is such a big trouble, global warming and air pollution cause more problems, including the loss of species. In recent decades, humanity started to pollute the air very intensively. With development of global industrialization a lot of fabrics have been built around the world. Furthermore, in modern times almost every family has their own car. Adding all of these factors, we have an increasing average temperature around the Earth, which impacts to climate and can destroy a lot of unique ecosystems and local flora and fauna. For example, the changing climate at the North Pole caused a melting of icebergs, which resulted in increasing in ocean water levels and the extinction of polar bears. In conclusion, despite the lack of diversity of animals and plants being a very serious problem, there is also another trouble, which humanity faced in the last century.