Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries have been enhancing their population’s life standards due to economic development, however, it has been pointed out that this can lead to the loss of certain social values. I personally believe that the advantages that come from the improvement of the social conditions of the citizens can easily exceed the other drawbacks. Economic development is crucial to enhance the standard of living of the population. In particular, it gives the chance to invest in different sectors, in which welfare states have always invested the most such as healthcare, education and infrastructure. And so this will help to improve their economic status and better the standard of living. Furthermore, thanks to the enhancement of economic status, these countries will be able to invest in other fields such as sustainable technologies. For instance, many developing countries like India or China in recent years have become fundamental reference points in the research of greener ways to produce energy. On the other hand, many believe that this economic development has a negative impact on social values. Globalization has been considered the cause of the loss of cultural heritage and traditions and of the pursuit of individual success and egoism. However, even if the gap between the different social statuses has increased, on the contrary, it has witnessed an economic growth and a general improvement in the standard of living both among the wealthier and the poorer part of the population. To conclude, although it has been blamed the phenomenon of economic development for the loss of social values in countries that experienced it, I personally believe that the advantages resulting from economic growth are irreplaceable.