Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable, and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that governments should prohibit tourists from entering certain places to preserve regional traditions, others believe that change is unavoidable, and it is useless to forbid tourism. I am convinced that although banning tourists in some areas may limitedly protect some native cultures in the short term, the change is a must, and forbidding tourism may have no result because of the impact of the internet.  On the one hand, it is believed that banning tourism in some regions might save local customs. It is undeniable that receiving a large number of tourists will have certain negative effects on cultural heritage. Visitors may influence the local youth in some aspects such as lifestyle, fashion, and language. This may lead to a huge and harmful change in the daily life of a country. For instance, several remote provinces in Vietnam have experienced big changes after opening doors to tourists. A lot of local young people follow new fashionable trends, get tattoos, or ask their parents to sell their homeland to buy modern motorbikes or cars. Some even quit their current jobs in craft villages and move to big cities with a dream of a more prosperous life. I disagree with this point because local traditions might be affected by other sources in the long term, and banning tourism may keep local businesses in underdevelopment, thus, many local people will be unemployed. On the other hand, the change is unavoidable, and prohibiting tourists is a nonsense reaction. Traveling is a real demand, and it not only helps to develop local companies and creates jobs, but also has a big contribution to the government budget. So, it is very difficult for the authorities to ban the tourism. Moreover, with the rapid development of the internet, people all over the world can easily be influenced by strange cultures. Therefore, forbidding tourists might not help. In conclusion, despite banning tourism may be effective in the short term, I believe that the change is inevitable and closing the door to tourism might be useless because the internet is so easy to access.