Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that many celebrities are known for their glamorous lifestyles rather than for the work they do. Although I accept the idea that they have a bad influence on children, I believe that other people act as positive role models. On the one hand, some individuals achieve fame without working for it. They may have inherited parents, married a famous or wealthy person, or they may have appeared in gossip magazines or on a reality TV programme. One example would be Paris Hilton, who is rich and famous for the wrong reasons. She spends her time attending parties and nightclubs, thus her behaviour promotes the idea that appearance, glamorous, and media profile are more important than hard work and good character. The message for young people is success can be achieved easily, and school work is not necessary. However, there are at least many celebrities whose accomplishments make them excellent role models. Actors, musicians, and sports stars become famous idols because they have worked hard and developed real skills and abilities. They demonstrate the great effort, determination, and ambition that is required for someone who wants to be successful in their chosen fields. For example, an actor and martial artist Jackie Chan has become world-famous through years of practice and hard work. This kind of self-made celebrity can inspire children to develop their talents through application and perseverance. In conclusion, fancy and glamorous lifestyles are associated with famous people who are less known for their achievements. I agree with the idea that the young generation would get negative exposure from celebrities. Nevertheless, I believe that many others demonstrate good examples.