In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary times, the ageing population has become a common phenomenon. Some people think that this causes some problems for governments, whereas others contend that this phenomenon can provide certain benefits. However, in this essay, I consider that having an ageing population may lend to more drawbacks rather than advantages, especially in numerous disease and labour force issues. One primary reason is that the elderly may be more likely to suffer some diseases. For instance, cancer is a typical disease. It is unsurprising that cancer needs to spend substantial expenses to treat it. To alleviate this problem, governments will pay more attention to support for patients, such as providing financial resources, modelling more hospitals, and recruiting numerous medical professionals, thereby ensuring that these patients can be treated more comprehensively. However, with consistent assistance, the burden of governments will increase gradually, ultimately resulting in them falling into a vicious cycle. This is one of the crucial reasons. Despite the fact that the elderly can indeed provide some benefits in terms of educational experiences, such as sharing their opinions about technological theories and schooling communication and interpersonal skills for young generations to adapt more later in the future, the health aspect is still a more serious challenge than that of benefit. Furthermore, the labour force is another difficulty. Because the manpower of the elderly inevitably decreases, young people must pay more attention to their business. At the same time, they also need to take care of their parents or children. Therefore, with a more ageing population, predictably, the stress of the young public will become heavier, particularly in terms of their family and work career. To sum up, I firmly contend that the advantages of having an ageing population cannot outweigh the disadvantages. Although the idly can indeed shave their experience to help young individuals grow more swiftly, health issues, such as cancer, and the pressure of manpower are other more serious difficulties.