In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the number of migrations from villages to urban areas is increasing. From my standpoint, it could be extremely devastating due to the fact of compelling reasons and practical examples, that this essay will expound on. One of the major drawbacks of overpopulation in cities, can be air pollution. This is mainly because the more individuals accumulate, the more personal vehicles will be driven. Consequently, the amount of toxic fumes and gases that are emitted, would be increased significantly. This could eventually lead to the inversion in the cold seasons; besides the intense heat waves in summer. For example, in Tehran, the rate of population growth has been so high that the government has had to declare a number of days off, due to air pollution. Another implication can be a rise in the price of accommodation. When a large number of people rush to an area, the demand for purchasing or renting a place will advance dramatically. Although it seems to be an incredible opportunity for central cities to develop, not every person can afford the price of a residence in town. Therefore, plenty of rural people move to the suburbs. Subsequently, a great deal of slums would be established in remote parts that could increase the ratio of poverty, robbery and insecurity. However, some argue that the countryside can never provide enough facilities and occupations for its residents. Accordingly, the young generation doesn’t have any other choice except for migration. In conclusion, despite the few benefits this trend brings about, I firmly believe that the repercussions of this migration can be worse.