As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, people can access breaking news from various sources aside from newspapers. One of them is the Internet which has become so popular that some believe newspapers are a thing of the past. I would argue the statement because even though the internet can provide a lot of information, usually it is not a reliable source. There are two reasons why reading the news in a newspaper is still related to present-day life. Firstly, the contents in it are more details and accurate because they are written by journalists who usually proof-checked them. Secondly, newspapers are changing from being printed in the paper to being posted in the internet by their media company, such as BBC, The Guardian, New York Times, etc. They all have the online version of newspapers besides their paper basic. People can access them by subscribing in their official website. As a result, it actually evolves and adapts to the modern world. On the other hand, there are others who prefer to read the news from other sources on the internet such as social media platforms like Instagram and Youtube. Everyone can take photos and videos about a current event and post them in their account which becomes information for anyone who sees them. However, we can not be sure about the truth in their content. Moreover, the discussion that could happen through the comments section can add unnecessary details which are probably false. This fact shows the internet is not a good source. In conclusion, the popularity of the internet can make people feel newspapers are not relevant anymore. However, I disagree with that view because newspapers have evolved and still are a reliable source.