In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Family structure and its members ' roles have undergone tremendous changes over the few past decades. The traditional extended model has gradually been reshaped into more diverse forms; family dynamics have also shifted towards more gender equality. In my opinion, the positivity of this movement eclipses its drawbacks. Speaking, there is a replacement of extended family to the rise of nuclear, alongside the emergence of new blends (single-parent, cohabitation, and same-sex marriage). The changing social norms have significantly shifted the traditional cultures towards valuing individualism and personal freedom, leading to smaller family units, where immediate family members focus on their individual needs and goals. Moving on to family roles, modern families promote the concept of gender equality more than traditional families in the past. Rather than becoming full-time homemakers, women now have better chances for their careers; hence, dual-income with women contributing instead of sole-husband-supporter. Furthermore, I firmly believe that this transformation offers more benefits than detrimental impacts. One challenge is the potential lack of emotional support and a sense of belonging. With fewer family members, there may be concerns about the limited avenues for seeking guidance during difficult times. However, the changing role of fathers could release the burden regarding both finances and the stability of the family when the couple can both become breadwinners and share the responsibilities of caring for the family by doing the household chores. Moreover, old people often hold traditional views which easily lead to conflicts among members especially with their young children; therefore, the shift in family structure could also reduce the generation gap and give better children's upbringing. In conclusion, it can be seen that there is a substantial modification from traditional families to more diverse family structures as well as equality in members ' roles. Albeit the merits of potential lack of emotional support and sense of belonging, I am in favour of the modern family by the virtual of its gender equality and better children's bringing up.