In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages

Health issues are becoming less and less nowadays. People believe this situation made them live longer than ever before. Some people consider overpopulation of elder people might have a bad impact on governments, while others think its benefits outweigh that statement. This essay will explore why having an ageing population draws more advantages than drawbacks for two main reasons. Firstly, when talking about decision-making in a society, people prefer to hear advice from older people. Through their experience, elders already witnessed more situations than young people. Moreover, for that reason, they can give others a wiser solution based on their condition. People also have some respect for their elders. For example, if the neighbourhood is at odds with each other they will listen to the elders to solve the problem. Secondly, there will be more facilities in the society because of the limitation of elder people. Governments should build infrastructures that elderly-friendly. Furthermore, the number of public places will also increase due to a massive growth in infrastructure. This benefits not only for the elders but also for other citizens. For instance, in the train station, it is hard for elder people to use a ladder to go upstairs, the lift will be built by the workers. In conclusion, having more elders in society offers more benefits than disadvantages such as helping society’s problems and creating more public facilities. Therefore, there is no reason for people to live longer, the most important thing that people need is collaboration from both parties young and old citizens.