More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

With the growing population of cities, more urban dwellers have to live in compact houses with no outdoor spaces. In my opinion, despite certain drawbacks, this tiny house movement is more associated with benefits to urban residents and society as a whole. On the one hand, I must admit that living in a tiny house is disadvantageous with respect to city dwellers ' wellbeing. Large living spaces have been proved to be instrumental in helping inhabitants, especially children, nurture their imagination and creativity. The young generation raised in tiny houses could be deprived of chances to realize their full creativity potential. Besides that, negative impacts are also on adult residents. Dealing with heavy workload and exorbitant living costs, adults in urban areas usually have a stressful life which is not alleviated but aggravated when going back to their stuffy rooms. Feeling cramped could be unpleasant and unbearable for some people, which could constantly trap them in negative feelings. Aside from the drawbacks mentioned above, I firmly believe that this tiny house movement should be encouraged because of its greater benefits associated with urban planning, more savings and home control. With regard to the former, living in compact houses is probably the best answer to the overpopulation problem so far since it can provide more living spaces. As far as savings are concerned, by living in this condition, urban residents can lower their housing costs such as rental fees and house maintenance costs. Safety could also be added to the list as small houses are easier to be controlled and supervised. This choice of accommodation is optimal for inhabitants in densely populated cities like Hong Kong or Singapore. In these places, the dwellers could afford their expenses and be shielded from burglaries and crimes more than those living in huge houses in Chicago in the US. In conclusion, although the downsides to citizens' wellbeing are considered, living in houses with limited spaces seems to be more beneficial to city dwellers and communities as it could resolve problems related to urban settings, cost savings and residents ' safety