In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

It is observed that there has been a growth in the number of athletes taking illegal substances to boost their performance. This negative development is caused by the greediness of individuals and the increasing pressure put on them; however, raising awareness of the consequences of such an action and strictly regulating the daily intakes of athletes can be some of the variable solutions to such a problem. One of the factors pushing sportsmen into using banned drugs is that they want to win the competitions so much that they can do whatever it takes to achieve their goal. With greed, it is possible that humans are capable of doing unimaginable things, only to get what they want. Moreover, with the increasing pressure that their government has put on them, using banned substances is seen as the quickest way to achieve such a required outcome. For instance, there have been a number of sports professionals caught using illegal substances during major sports events, such as the Olympics, the ASEAN Games and more. To solve this problem, it has been suggested that awareness-raising campaigns should be regularly carried out. With information on the adverse effects of illegal drugs spread like wildfire, the majority of people, sports people or not, would have a grasp knowledge on what would be the potential harm that these drugs can cause to human health. In addition, there should also be a system that strictly regulates the intake of sports contestants. For instance, all athletes who went to Paris for the Olympics 2024 were required to reside in residential buildings arranged by the committee and allowed to consume only meals prepared by the organisers. Consequently, no athletes tested negative for banned substance usage during the competition. In conclusion, it has been identified that two of the primary causes leading sports contestants to use illegal drugs are their greediness and the pressure they must win a medal for their nation. However, this problem can be solved through awareness-raising campaigns and strict regulation of substance consumption during competitions.