In many countries, children start learning a second language when they are still in primary school. What are the benefits and drawbacks of learning a second language at an early age? You should write at least 250 words. You should spend around 40 minutes on this task.

Currently, pupils from many countries get used to studying another language from their younger ages. However, this strategy of the school curriculum does not always have advantageous aspects. Therefore, this essay will also consider drawbacks of the school system such as studying a second language can have side effects on their first language. On the one hand, the disadvantageous sides of studying a second language can have a great negative impact on their knowledge of the mother language, due to the fact that some students begin to speak only in the second language in order to demonstrate themselves as geniuses and bilinguals. Moreover, these actions are considered very prestige among teenagers. For example, in Kazakhstan, school students, starting from primary school, speak both Kazakh and Russian languages and the majority of them, who speak Russian, argue that knowing only Kazakh language is nowhere near as "cool" as knowing Russian among their classmates. Because everyone wants to become a cool guy by forgetting and getting embarrassed to speak their native language. Therefore, according to most students from Kazakhstan, their knowledge of the local language is affected because of the second one. Nevertheless, learning a second language at school from pupils at younger ages can affect greatly their job and university perspectives fundamentally. Because they can pass any language test in order to apply for any job or an institute when they get older. For instance, also in Kazakhstan, teachers teach students English language from second grade at school boundaries that give them various opportunities to take an IELTS exam in order to pass the best universities in the US such as Harvard. Thus, it is clear that beginning to investigate another language at school will be increasingly necessary. To sum up, everything that has been stated so far, knowing international languages at school ages can negatively influence pupils such as they could forget their mother language, while it could also impact in a positive way if to consider the future outlook and uniqueness of the young generation.