The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Thanks to the advance in technology, the Internet has been prevalently evolving many aspects of human activities. Such develop has raised the prominent debate as to whether local authorities should enfore more online regulations to protect users from cyber crime and promote the online safety. Thus, this essay will delve deeply into the merits and drawbacks of this stance and eventually deliver the partly advocating rationales. Firstly, by controlling the usage of the Internet, government risks breaching the freedom of information, resulting in the media censorship and misleading information. For instance, one of the current Internet policies in many parts of the world is that the local informatics department may limit any news access providing that a lot of news is detrimental to not only individuals but also to national extent. Yet, this act also hinders some factual affairs happening around the world and in turns, raising the question about the validity of news. Thus, online users will search for alternative approaches to get updated and it may lead to more harmful websites, which conflicting with the original incentives. Another reason opposing the control of the government to the Internet is that the practicality of reducing cyber crime. Proponents claimed the safety of the Internet could be enhanced by executing some powerful laws and soon decline the online criminals. In contrast, it is undeniable that hackers are also progressing in a way to breaking this barriers as many online users have aspirations to get through the firewall to reach some sites assuming they are useful for them regardless the governmental warning and policies. Therefore, these responsible personnel should keep up the pace with both criminals and users to improve the national Internet security. However, there are also advantages of managing the Internet and if implementing Change the form of the verb implemented show examples correctly, it could facility the safety and deflate the cyber crime. One of the cases is to progressively update the firewall to filter out many dangerous and inappropriate sites. It could possibly prevent hackers from attacking and users can feel the security when surfing webs. Then, it is benefitial as citizens can get authentic news despite some limitations and government have a strong protective foundations to either educate its citizens or to develop without the concern of cyber crime. In conclusion, it may be neccessary to have governmental control on the Internet usage since it provides user with the protection as well as lessening the online attacks. On the other hands, the adverse impacts may overshadow the positives as these regulations may breach the freedom of information or the validity of these practices. Therefore, local authorities should weigh these measures carefully before any implementation to ensure the effectiveness of these enforcement.