Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals think that there should be constant punishments for each kind of crime. Other groups believe that each punishment depends on the situation of an individual crime. It is important to distinguish the type of crime. According to the first idea, fixed punishments make justice for offenders in society from minor crimes to major ones equally without paying attention to some exceptions. Because each case can be different from the other one. This can affect a judgment in a court and the result becomes unfair if there are no alternative regulations. On the other side, Others believe that having fixed punishments for any kind of crime brings unjustice rights among offenders because all types of crime are not equal such as pickpocketing, robbing, killing, forging, and other types of crimes. There are many items that have an influence on these crimes like the quality of action, quantity, and awareness. There is a situation for some people who should pay money for committing minor crimes like passing a traffic light when it is red. But if a crime gets worse, other organisations will get involved in this issue like killing a person and those regulations become more important. To sum up, some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some of them argue that the situations of a specific crime, and the motivation for committing it are important. In my opinion, the second idea is much more flexible for each type of crime and councillors can judge better in a court.