Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rise in technology, a lot of new educational TV shows have come to light. People have started suggesting that children should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. I am somewhat neutral on this topic. On one hand, most people consider watching television in their leisure time, which makes it more focused towards wasting time rather than learning effectively. Furthermore, children can easily get distracted by their favourite TV shows if they are not under surveillance which can hinder their learning. Moreover, long exposure to television screens can cause children to have weak eyesight. Lastly, it might not be feasible to have televisions in certain schools which can not afford televisions to be available in every classroom. On the other hand, watching television can help children learn effectively because of the creative way of teaching it provides. It can also help children retain more knowledge while also making the lessons more memorable and fun because of the different animations available. Children can have different ways to learn hence, making them more knowledgeable. From my experience, I was more focused while learning from the television and less focused when learning from books. To conclude, while I think that TVs provide a way to learn more quickly and effectively, I also think that children should be in an environment where they would be under surveillance like a school so as to not get distracted and not in a house where they could get easily distracted.