The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Since the development of science, people's life quality has improved rapidly. Therefore, some people believe that this is the ultimate purpose of scientific research. However, I fully disagree with this opinion. Review history, it is painless to clarify that science follows academic intrinsic behaviors, such as independent analysis, which means scientists prefer to research and rely on their specialties and interests, in order to recognize the world objectively. In fact, since the complexities of the frontiers of science, it is challenging to identify whether a scientific project is beneficial to human life or not. For example, Einsten's theory refreshed people's perspective of the physical world, and brought a series of technical innovations, but also accomplished the development of nuclear weapons. So, if we merely concentrate on the morality of science, Einsten's research should be forbidden at that time, which is a wrong conclusion apparently. Therefore, treating improving life's quality as the pure motivation of science is irrational and unrealistic, because it violates the spirit of science. Undoubtedly, people's lives are related to the development of science, but this relevance is not direct. Generally, scientific research requires massive financial and time costs with the uncertainty of consequences, resulting in scientific discoveries are unexpected usually. Meanwhile, many results of the research are likely to be illustrated as theoretical possibilities, which means they are unable to practice in applications in the short term. Hence, a better way to describe this fact is that most scientific research is ineffective in enhancing life's quality. Therefore, it is axiomatic that aiming science at helping people's lives is ludicrous. In conclusion, science runs on its inner logic and rules, and even though its development could be advantageous to people's lives, it should be functional in exploring natural laws.