There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music is part culture identity of a country. Some people think traditional music is better than international music and vice versa. However, I believe both traditional and international music have their uniqueness. Local music shows an identity to society. Through local music, we are able to learn the history and diversity of a country. The strengthening of local music sometimes has a big impact on national economic development. For example, traditional musicmusic in Yogyakarta attracted tourists and travellers. They even take a course for a year, minimum, to learn more about Yogyakartas’s traditional music. Moreover, several international organization has representatives in to study history of traditional music in Yogyakarta. Traditional music also could be a political campaign. Learning local music is learning about how cultural society works in Yogyakarta, and it can be a good approach to partnerships. The popularity of traditional music is almost the same with international music nowadays. Even though the number of the fans of transitional music is not as big as international music, each of them has a targeted audience. Nowadays, international musics contribute to the economics of the country. For example, Korean Music, K-POP, has become extremely popular in the world. Many people are willing to spend their money to buy a concert tickets or albums of idols, even if the price is very expensive. Not only that, the concert of K-POP will impact on local economics of a host country, tickets, hotels, drinks, food and any other businesses. In summary, both traditional and international music have their own value and uniqueness. Through two types of music, people can familiar with each other’s culture.