There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

There has been an increasing number of people deciding to go on childless marriages. While it is believed that those husbands and wives will inevitably face social discrimination, I argue that leading a married life without children would allow them more time to focus on their careers. On the one hand, couples who choose to lead their marriage lives without children may face societal pressure and judgment. This is because it is a status quo that married adults are expected to be able to conceive as many offspring as possible. For instance, in many Asian cultures, people like to live in extended families, and having a lot of children, or even grandchildren would showcase their happiness and success in life. However, I believe success cannot be solely defined by one’s ability to conceive many children. On another hand, having a childless marriage is considered to be beneficial to couples because they can have enough time to work to achieve their career goals. Without the demand of parenting, individuals can dedicate their time entirely to their careers, potentially achieving greater professional success. For example, more and more working adults in developed economies, such as Japan and South Korea, are using long-term contraception methods to avoid getting pregnant so that they can fully focus on their professional jobs. Thus, I believe that it is more important that people can choose the lifestyle they desire rather than lead a life just to please others. In conclusion, although childless couples might have to face criticism about their decision to not have children, I believe there are numerous advantages that having no child can give them, one of which is the time to strive for their careers