In many coutries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the new born. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweight the disadvantages?

In some countries, women are allowed to take some time off after giving birth. There are benefits and drawbacks to maternity leave. However, the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages due to various reasons. In the aspect of business, there are several disadvantages of maternity leave. Maternity leave could be an obstacle to a routine job because the company will lack a person who is doing a particular job every day for a month, and it is not worth the money to hire someone to do the job for only a short period. As a result, other employees will have to be responsible for the job, which may cause work overload in a workplace. Women who take maternity leave may encounter a problem with career progression because they would possibly lose track of their work or find difficulties getting familiar with current tasks due to a long absence. However, maternity leave is advantageous for mothers. In terms of health and mentality, giving birth takes a lot of emotional and physical effort for most women. Some may face risks or dangers.Some may still be exhausted from carrying a baby for nine months. Therefore, giving women a month’s break will give them the chance to recover from fatigue and look after themselves after pregnancy. In addition, taking some time off after giving birth is considered a time for mothers to assist their babies in the early stages of life. Newborn babies do not have a strong immune system, so they can easily be sick or catch diseases. It is one of mothers’ main responsibilities to take care of their babies during the first month. In summary,even though there may be some drawbacks of maternity leave related to career growth or work overload issues, maternity leave is extremely important for mothers to recover and for babies to be protected and assisted during the early stages,so it is acceptable to be absent from work for a short period.