✅ Q: One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

in the present climate, the lack of sufficient food supply has become an issue of concern in all world. However, some hold the view that genetically modified(GM) food can be an operational approach to tackle this issue. I tend to approve of this view strongly as it can be practical. One explanation for why GM food is fruitful is its tremendous influence on residents' welfare in terms of nutrition. It means that it can provide those territories whose population rate has surged, whereas their food supply and cultivable lands do not go in parallel with the phenomenon. For instance, developing countries, which comprise the majority of the nations, are suffering from food shortages. Therefore, GM foods can increase crop yield in the same lands in these areas. Another rationale is that scientists can modify these types of foods' genes in order to make them tolerant toward diseases and climate change. Therefore, the need for pesticides and herbicides would diminish. Not only can these crops be cost-effective for the farmers but also they can be environmentally friendly as the chemicals used in these products can erode the soil and percolate to the water table and contaminate it. For instance, Nitrogen which is an integral particle of fertilizers are considered to be detrimental to the soil. Hence, GM food can help to avoid these polluters. On the other hand, some may argue that genetically modified foods are new and may be associated with some unknown side effects in terms of physical health. For instance, they claim GM food can result in various cancers. Moreover, it is opined that the budget that goes to this technology can be dedicated to local farmers to improve their traditional techniques. However, I refute this mindset as, if not tackled, the issue of overpopulation and food shortage would lead to more poverty. In conclusion, it seems rational to accept that although the GM food industry is new and has some hurdles, it can save human beings from food -related concerns.