The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The spread of the Internet has significantly affected the way opinions and ideas are conveyed. Although some declare that the current tendency is advantageous due to the fact that it unifies people around the world, I argue that citizens started to disregard face-to-face interactions due to the development. As social media is becoming omnipresent, the amount of information shared within the system soared. That is to say, intercultural understanding has now become easier than it has ever been. Whilst this may contribute to the creation of the international community, this is a double-edged sword. Simply put, it can also radicalise some people who interact with the information that are opposite to theirs, thus inducing hate crimes and terrorism. Many people are getting addicted to online communities. In short, people cannot help but to consistently stay online because of the sense of attachment. Hence, there are scores of people who trivialise real communications with friends, neighbours, and colleagues. For example, there is a profound social issue in Japan where adolescents do not want to leave their room due to the excessive amount of the Internet usage. This amply indicates one of the drawbacks of using the Internet, which arguably constitutes the basis of the society. In this essay, I contend that the Internet, which is believed to unify individuals around the globe, can potentially elicit certain demographics who antagonise other cultures to resort to violence, which may cause hate crimes and terrorism. Moreover, the importance of having personal connections has been eroded due to the preponderance of the Internet.