Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Through the years, the perception of aesthetics has changed day by day. Something that once seemed beautiful to people may appear unpleasant later. This problem might occur in various areas such as fashion, arts and even architecture. Because of that, the world is in a change all the time. It might be a good development for the cultures, however, I think some values should be protected as they were. First of all, many people care how their living areas seem because appearance is always a consideration to many of them. Therefore, they want to replace the old buildings with new ones. However, there are not only aesthetic worries, but there are also some issues about safety. For example, in my home country, there are lots of regions where at risk of earthquakes. Unfortunately, there have been massive earthquakes in recent years which caused lots of men's and women's deaths. The most devastating point is that many scientists warned both the government and citizens about the possible disaster that could happen because of old and weak structures. Furthermore, they are still warning us about future possible damages. Because of that, many individuals want to replace their living areas with new and stronger ones. On the other hand, I believe that some old buildings are symbols of history. In my country, there are a lot of construction which come from ancient times. They are not only important for our culture but also prove the richness of humanity. Because of that, I think that old palaces, ancient cities, and strong buildings from a specific era should be maintained as they were. In conclusion, there are two sides to replacing old structures. The government should decide which one to remove or to protect according to the most benefit to human beings.