The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today with the development of traffic systems, more and more traffic violations increase. Therefore, to deal with these problems, some people suppose that governments or local authorities should punish violators with hostile fines. This essay will present some reasons why I am convinced partly by this statement. On the one hand, admittedly, stricter punishments can be only a useful and practical key to reducing traffic violations. Another solution such as putting up traffic signs or dispatching traffic policies may be inefficient ways to help roads become safe. However, heavily punishing can be efficient at a certain level. Due to the fact that residents are always scared of heavy fines as they can lose lots of money for each punishment. Besides, this solution can have long-lasting effects. Might be the first time, that inhabitants do not pay attention to it. But, the more fines occur, the more people care about it. Furthermore, when more residents concentrate on the punishments and know how much income they will lose, they will become more law-abiding. On the other hand, there are some issues that need to be paid attention to. First of all, using too many fines can be counterproductive. When people are fined too many times, they will not be afraid of the punishments anymore. By contrast, might appear more residents oppose this regulation. Furthermore, many people can take advantage of this law to excite conflicts and dissatisfaction between the authorities and local inhabitants. Hence, the state of the traffic system could get worse. In conclusion, although I partly agree with the opinion that heavy fines for driving offences can be a good way to improve road safety, from my perspective, the governments also need some strategies to raise the awareness of the public.