Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children’s who are taught to co operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give yout personal opinion too.

In modern society, there is a debate over whether fostering a sense of competition or cooperation in children yields more beneficial outcomes for their development. While some argue that competition instils essential skills and drives individual success, others believe that cooperation nurtures empathy and collaboration. This essay agrees that collaboration is preferable for adolescents. On the one hand, competition prepares children for the challenges they will face in the competitive world of adulthood. Contesting cultivates ambition, resilience, and the drive to excel, essential traits for success in various aspects of life, including academics, sports, and careers. Competition can be healthy when it provides feedback to children about their performance and improvement, and when they learn about themselves under challenging situations. Under these circumstances, it teaches invaluable lessons young boys and girls do not typically learn in the classroom. Unfortunately, the frequent win-at-all-costs mentality associated with many competitive endeavours can undermine their motivation and lead them to avoid or even disengage from activities they may otherwise enjoy. On the other hand, cooperation fosters social cohesion and empathy. Children, who are taught to cooperate, learn the value of teamwork, communication, and compromise. These skills are crucial for navigating interpersonal relationships, resolving conflicts, and contributing positively to their communities. Moreover, cooperation promotes a sense of collective responsibility, encouraging minors to support and uplift one another rather than solely focusing on individual achievement. For example, children who participate in sports like football or basketball, need to pass the ball, strategize, and cooperate to score points. To conclude, while the debate between competition and cooperation in young adults' development persists, working together and mutual support will benefit them in the long run, teaching young generations to communicate and compromise. Besides, it does not have the mental negative aspects that unhealthy rivalry has.