The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people have an opinion that as time progresses, the average standard of an individual's health will deteriorate in comparison to what it is now. This essay aims to substantiate this assertion. Despite the advancements in the medical field, we have observed that the proportion of unhealthy people has significantly increased in the past decades. One of the most significant contributing factors is sedantary lifestyle, which is becoming more popular every day. People prefer to stay indoors and watch television, instead of going out for a walk. Even children nowadays prefer to play video games, rather than going out and playing sports. A recent study was done, where a cohort of school students were asked, if they knew how to play football on their PlayStations, and in real life. It was surprising to note that most of them could play it virtually, but very few knew how to play football on a field. This study proves that people have become extremely lazy, and consequently suffer from severe health problems, like obesity, atherosclerosis, weakening of eyesight, and many more. Another factor that contributes to the decrease in health standards is unhealthy eating habits and food trends. There is an increased popularity of fast and processed food, which leads to people not getting the required nutrition. Moreover, it is not just the fast food, but also fruits and vegetables are treated with chemicals, which undoubtedly decreases their nutritional value. In a recent survey, demographics showed that majority of the global population suffers from at least one or two vitamin or mineral deficiencies. The lack of proper nutrition contributes in weakening of our immune system, which makes our body susceptible to various infections and diseases. In conclusion, I completely agree that with time, health standards of the human population will decrease because lack of physical exercise and proper nutrition are the two fundamentals to attain a healthy body and mind, which are lacking from our current lifestyles.