The news about violent crimes may frighten people or, on the contrary, encourage them to commit a crime. Therefore, some believe that these types of news should not be reported in newspapers or on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that the news related to violent crimes should not be widespread because it possibly terrifies people or even stimulates viewers to commit a crime. I partly agree with this claim. However, I also believe that the news about violent crimes also plays a significant role in saving societies. On the negative side, violent crime news could provoke people to commit crimes. This is because criminals easily imitate them by watching the news of violent crime. Typically, crime reports contain information about in which way cases were handled. If these details are depicted precisely, it would lead to other crimes. Additionally, such detailed reports would provide harmful effects to children as they have not had a firm criterion to distinguish right or wrong. On the other hand, the media coverage of violent crime is necessary to warn citizens to prevent being involved in crimes, particularly in the case that a criminal has not been caught yet. For example, when a violent crime to elementary school students happened in Japan, police did not find a suspect immediately. The media had been warning adults to watch out to keep children safe every day until the suspect was caught. Moreover, coverage of violent crimes can be an opportunity to address underlying social issues related to crimes, including poverty, lack of education, and welfare, and foster societal improvement. In conclusion, it is true that the news about violent crime has some ill effects. However, the coverage would be able to save citizen’s lives through causing precautions. Therefore, I believe that while it is necessary to report violent crimes, such reports should be handled with caution to avoid unnecessary details that could inspire imitation.