In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than giving gifts chosen personally.Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or a negative development

In an attempt to not offend someone, people these days have started to hand out money as gifts rather than giving them chosen gifts. Like everything, this cause has its own advantages and disadvantages. This essay will examine both sides of the case and deduce if gifting someone money is a positive or negative development. On one hand, people these days prefer to be gifted money, one of the main reasons for this is because they do not want unnecessary things they do not like and would rather prefer money which they can use on something they want while also reducing unnecessary space consumed by personal gifts. Moreover, people who send money as gifts from different countries also help the country's economy which giving gifts can not. Furthermore, gifting money acts like a last resort to people who have forgotten to buy personal gifts or have no idea of the recipients personal choices and hence, is a more flexible way of gifting for people with busy lifestyles as it caters to their desires and needs. Lastly, gifting money is more helpful for the recipient in times when the economy is very unpredictable. On the other hand, people are more appreciative towards giving gifts personally as they appreciate people putting thought and time into deciding their gift. Moreover, giving people personal gifts helps run local gifting businesses which have taken a loss since people have started to gift money. To conclude, paying with money is a more viable option as it caters to the needs of the recipient is hence,has a positive development.