some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era, criminal rate is increasing and many dangerous criminals appear. Some argue that to decrease the number of prisoners, the best way is raise prison terms. Others believe that alternative solutions will be more successful. Two points of view will be discussed in the following paragraphs before presenting my personal perspective in the conclusion. There are many reasons why extended prison term is important to turn down the number of inmates. People who advocate this method consider that longer detention plays an important role and is a solution against criminal acts. Dangerous prisoners deserve life sentences even the death penalty. These punishments are intended to deter prisoners and those preparing to commit crimes. Moreover, after being released from prison, people will never think about committing crimes. A recent research conducted at Havard University shows that 70% after being released from prison, people never illegal acts On the other hand, some people believe that there are many alternative methods that are more effective in preventing criminals. Besides increasing prison terms, we can release prisoners for humanitarian reasons with people who are good and re-educate law-breakers. For instance, criminals in Vietnam will receive help from the government after being released from prison such as helping them integrate into the community, find a job, and become more honest people. In addition, the state sometimes keep an eye on them if there is a repeat offence. In conclusion, reducing crime is a matter of national concern. In my point of view, the combination of increased prison terms, severe punishments, and humanitarian measures are essential for criminals.