Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities. Others believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy their lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that children should be entitled to additional duties, while others believe it is unnecessary and let them live a carefree life. I personally agree with this statement and will discuss both views in this essay. In many parts of the world, especially in Asia; the kids undergo strict parenting and rigorous routines. By inculcating such an environment, it is believed that they develop strong interpersonal and intellectual skills early in their lives. Such treatment enables them to be aware of their surroundings and to be better prepared to cope with the difficulties of adult life. Children who have endured additional tasks and responsibilities are reported to perform better in schools, specifically, they tend to outperform brilliantly in mathematics and science. Furthermore, these children are habitual in living in survival environments and tend to make optimum life decisions throughout their lives. For instance, in China, it is illegal for kids to play online games such as PUBG, or Call of Duty, because it wastes their time and degrades their performance in school. Instead, they are required to attend compulsory gymnastics training daily to remain healthy and active in school. On the other hand, burdening young children is not good for their mental health. They already have to focus on cognitive-intensive science and mathematical subjects, and often it is challenging for a kid to focus on studies along with extracurricular activities. This can result in average academic performance and poor decision-making capabilities. Besides, they are too young for this and need to spend their time playing with others in order to build confidence, which in turn will help them to explore and know this world better. For example, the UN Charter of Education has advised primary education institutions to not allow more than 4 hours of tuition, and to have 2 hours of playtime allocated daily for mental and physical health. To conclude, I believe kids are not meant to worry about things they have to do when they grow up, instead; they should be free to have fun and live their lives to the fullest.