Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Health is always the priority of human beings. However, it is a fact that the number of sick people who use other medicines or treatments rather than coming to meet their usual doctors is increasing. I believe that it is a negative trend because people may either take fake or useless medicine and treatments for a long time and therefore, a waste of money, or take the right ones, but with the incorrect dosage for a long time leading to drug resistance or missing the golden stage to cure, which is also very dangerous. Firstly, taking unproven medicines or treatments may be an action of throwing money around. Many people, instead of going to a hospital for a health check, take folk medicine introduced by a neighbour or friend or even use some plants that are believed to be useful but without any scientific evidence. These traditional medicines or treatments often require a long period of use to witness the result, thus, consuming a great deal of financial resources and time. For instance, a high percentage of people in oriental countries like Viet Nam are familiar with folk medicines and treatments, they tend to use plants or visit witch curers whenever they have sickness, and some families even lose all their savings for these unproven types of treatment. Furthermore, medicines or treatments indicated by an unqualified medical expert may put a person in danger. Professionals who have a lot of experience with their patients' health history will know the perfect dosage for them while others cannot. Therefore, alternative medicines or treatments may not give people a proper dosage and this may lead to drug resistance. Moreover, using incorrect dosages or treatments means patients might miss the golden time to cure their illness, consequently, their sickness might be worse and sometimes become hopeless. For example, not many people in Vietnam have the habit of visiting their usual doctors, most people prefer to use alternative medicines or buy medicines from drugstores because of convenience and cheap cost, as a consequence, several of them become drug-resistant or even in danger. In conclusion, taking alternative medicines or treatments instead of visiting the usual doctors is a negative tendency because they not only make them poorer but also waste time, and even put people in life-threatening.