It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible.

Technology is continuously modifying our culture and lifestyle, and people are adapting to these changes. However, I disagree with the idea that cultures and traditions will be lost altogether in the future. It is true that rapid technology advancements have changed our world in many aspects. For example, in many cultures, visiting families is a principal value. Nevertheless, after mobile phones were introduced to the world, people communicated virtually instead of meeting in person. Also, they were not obliged to refer to banks to pay bills or to travel to another country to visit its tourist attractions. This eroded the interpersonal socialization from which they formerly benefited. Nowadays, many individuals choose making conversations over Skype, rather than driving to houses for a night time chat, or watching traditional celebrations on TV, instead of participating in them. However, many people noticed the negative impacts of technological developments and tried to mitigate its effects and revitalize traditions by re-attaching to their valued norms. In Iran for example, many families started to hold big gatherings where family members put the phones in baskets and made effective communications, maintaining a sense of attention and care. Additionally, technology has facilitated long-distance communications by social media, whereby people can make friends and chat unlimitedly for free. Also, there are online gaming platforms, attracting everyone from any age profile or countries to enjoy their leisure time together. This leads to long-lasting friendships and random discussions about cultural differences, foods, and ceremonies, and consequently raising cultural awareness through relationships. Therefore, it is not true that technology and traditions are irrelevant, at least regarding how it has brought many together worldwide. In conclusion, while technology has posed threats to some cultural traditions, an appropriate approach could address the issues effectively and turn threats into opportunities to sustain cultural heritages.