Some people believe that the care of elderly people should be a priority of government spending. Others believe that government spending should focus more on young people, especially on their education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether government spending should be allocated to elder care or the young generation, particularly in their education. In my view, both previous and next generations deserve to receive fair investment from the state. On the one hand, it can be argued that the government should spend money on the care of senior citizens. It would be no exaggeration to say that the elderly play a pivotal role in laying the foundation for a country’s development. Undergoing important historical periods of the country as well as life transitions, they possess an immense ocean of experience, knowledge, and wisdom which serves as a guidepost for the younger generation and society. Until now, there are a noticeable number of over 70-year-old citizens who have been constantly working and devoting their efforts to serve their countries. Therefore, they are worth receiving great attention and honor from society. In fact, in many countries, the government has implemented preferential policies for the elderly, most notably, receiving priority to check-ups in advance at medical institutions or participating in public transport without paying for tickets. On the other hand, some people assume that government spending categories should focus on the youth. Young people are considered the seeds of a nation’s fruitful future as they symbolize exceptional intellect and youthful vigor. In other words, junior citizens are always willing to adapt to new environments, as well as absorb and cultivate knowledge in all aspects. As a result, it is crucial for the government to nurture these seeds comprehensively, especially in their academic learning, with the aim of creating more opportunities for them to access the essence across the globe, thereby accelerating the international integration process. A prime illustration of this point is that in Vietnam, state budget resources have focused on prioritizing investment in universal education, particularly in difficult areas and ethnic minorities. In conclusion, it is evident that both the old and young generations have made certain contributions to the long-term and sustainable development of any nation. Governments should enact additional practical policies to support all its citizens regardless of age.