In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In contemporary times, a huge number of individuals are keen on about history of their residential area. It can be because of safety and security reasons or rooted in the curiosity about former owners. In both cases, they can ask for some information from local people or the government. To begin with, I think it is important for most individuals to become familiar with their new neighbourhood. Nowadays, the major feature of any place is safety. Individuals want to know if there is any crime or murder happened before in their house or not. Because they want a peaceful and secure place to live and grow their children. For example, I remember when my family decided to move into a new home, my father took some time and did research about that area until he made sure that nothing awful or dangerous occurred there. Another reason is illegal home ownership. In some countries like Iran, due to tragic reasons such as war or revolution, a number of owners may die or immigrate. Accordingly, they may lose their properties such as estates and lands. Then, some of the real estate sell their properties illegally to others. Therefore, now individuals are more aware of this issue and try to get some correct information from thrust-worthy agencies about former residents of significant homes. I believe any person is able to find proper data about an area by asking local people like neighbours. Moreover, local police and the government probably have evidence about former owners or accidents that may have occurred in any neighbourhood. In conclusion, the eagerness to live in a safe place, and avoid usurping other’s property are possible reasons why individuals are willing to know about the history of their homes. Therefore, local government, police and some honest neighbours are the best options to find the truth.