Nowadays, it’s not only large companies that might be able to make movies. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think that it’s a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, technological advancements have paved the way for ordinary people to direct films, which were previously only produced by big production companies. It has numerous benefits as movies can now be directed at low cost and increased accessibility leads to more young talent entering the industry. Today, numerous software providers charge very little for their film-making products, making the process significantly inexpensive. For instance, Adobe Filmora, a high-end video editing application that provides professional editing tools providing features that can be used to edit, colour grade, and sound clarity, charges only $200 per month as their subscription fee. This is a minimal production cost to a maker, who releases the same quality as compared to large producers. Therefore, lower costs and availability to everyone help an individual to make movies. Moreover, it will end the monopoly of the big players in the entertainment industry and give a chance to young individuals. For example, YouTube, a video streaming platform, enables users to upload content on their channels and earn according to views. It eliminates the use of intermediaries to release under their banners and benefits new talent to show their work to a wider audience. Thus, digital updates facilitate youngsters to come forward and show their talent individually. To conclude, technological development enables anyone to produce a picture cost-effectively and reach a larger number of people is a positive. With new players in the market, it will create healthy competition to produce more quality products and add names to the creator's list.