Fast food advertisements can be found on TV and through social media which tempts people to eat unhealthy food. should fast food ads be banned?

Fast food advertisements are some of the most common ads seen in digital and print media. A strong argument could be made whether these promote unhealthy food habits and that stronger mandates and regulations should be in place against these ad campaigns. Firstly, it can be argued fast food advertisements, and promotional discounts lead to increased consumption of fast food by consumers. These can lead to an increase in several lifestyle diseases like diabetes, and hypertension. These diseases have a reputation for being slow killers - individuals may not suffer initially but over time they may develop insidious consequences like stroke, diabetic neuropathy, nephropathy or retinopathy. These end-stage diseases can have a severe debilitating effect on the affected individuals' lives and in many cases reduced lifespan. Conversely, it could be argued that food especially fast food should be consumed in moderation and that the decision should be entirely based on consumer preference. Furthermore, an important argument could be made that fast food companies are simply trying to advertise their products over their competitors and not necessarily trying to promote bad food habits. By banning ads, their profits may go down which may affect the franchise owners economically. This can in turn lead to the shutting down of existing franchises, loss of jobs as well as reduced taxes earned by the country from these fast food giants. A potential solution to this problem could be the government mandating each franchise to show the exact nutritional value of the meals offered. The nutritional value disclosed should contain information on total calories, cholesterol levels, HDL and LDL levels etc. This way each consumer can have a better informed view of the meals they consume. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that rather than ban advertising on fast food, stricter mandates should be in place so that nutritional information be disclosed and that it should be left to the consumers to make the informed choice.