Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In recent years, there has been an increase in the number of married couples who decide to transit to parenthood later in their lifetime. There are several reasons behind this trend which impinge not only on family life but also on the community as a whole. There are two main factors contributing to this issue. Firstly, many individuals consider a successful career as the top priority instead of having children. The majority of them believe that having a baby means they cannot dedicate all of their time to their career which could negatively affect their promotion prospects. Secondly, delaying parenthood provides young married couples a wide range of opportunities to enjoy their life. For example, this lifestyle could let them have more time to pursue their self-interests like traveling around the world. However, this trend could bring adverse effects to both family life and society. To begin with, children upbringing can be a huge challenge for old parents. Even though they have a high position in the pecking order, it may be not easy for them to take a good parent role in terms of communication with their children due to possible generation gaps. Another negative consequence is that women having a child after 35 years old could face some potential health risks. As a result, this could lead to a growth in infant mortality which consequently affects the future workforce. In conclusion, there are several explanations to why more and more people prefer to give birth later in their life, which might result in some drawbacks on family life and the overall development of society.