These days in some countries an increasing number of young adults are choosing their whole weekends inside homes. Why do you think it is happening ? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has become more common for young adults to spend whole weekends at home. Their growing dependence on technology is the primary reason for this trend and I believe this is a negative development, for it promotes an unhealthy lifestyle regardless of some positive consequence with a lower crime rate. On the one hand, young people spending their whole weekends indoors brings about some benefits as they are less likely to cause trouble outside. The growing popularity of electric gadgets, which is the most significant cause of this phenomenon, encourages them to stay at home playing games and socializing with friends online. This leads to an incredible drop in crimes committed by young adults, promoting more harmony and peace in society. Furthermore, they tend to have less conflict with others due to reduced opportunities for their interaction. In addition, they can even avoid serious fights as they easily quit relationships in digital world. On the other hand, staying at home during entire holidays is disadvantageous to young adults as they are less motivated to do exercise. Indeed, it has become more troublesome for them to go out and play sports in the park when they are provided with exciting games and thrilling movies by their smartphones. This will lead to a great decline in their physical conditions as they continue to sit for an extended period of time and young people today will not possess as much stamina and muscle as they used to a decade ago. Consequently, the chance of getting diseases and becoming obese will rise dramatically, making them more vulnerable in future. In conclusion, young people are more likely to stay indoors during weekends because they are more reliant on technology, which allows them to enjoy various forms of entertainment. This is generally a negative development as it deprives them of chances to go out and participate in some physical training, raising their risks of diseases and obesity.