Some people get into debt by buying things they do not need and are unable to afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour?

Many people are trapped into debt by being consumptive for buying things that are not really important and which they cannot afford. In my view, this behaviour occurs because often people want to impress their peers. Moreover, impulsive buying can happen because people do not have enough knowledge about finance. This can be changed by being mindful of themselves, and not actually paying attention to what other people are thinking. Firstly, such acts as impulsive buying can happen due to the fact that many people care more about their surrounding opinions about them than their own actual needs. Furthermore, the act of sudden buying will only satisfy their ego, not fulfil their needs. One clear example is when something that person really needs is a new bag to carry around work stuff, on the other hand, their peers pressure them to buy a fancy bag and make them end up buying the fancy bag. Secondly, the behaviour can occur when people do not have adequate knowledge about finance. As a result, it can lead to unwise financial decisions such as sudden buying without concern about whether it is urgent or not. For this reason, if this kind of behaviour is kept repeating will result in financial shambles for that respective individual. For instance, people with a good salary but who do not have financial knowledge will often splurge their salary to buy things that have no urgency. That kind of behaviour can be prevented by focusing on what actually matters, not what can impress people. By being mindful, the urge to splurge huge amounts of money to impulsively buy something can be suppressed. In conclusion, impressing people and not having financial knowledge could be a disaster for your finances. One of the ways to prevent it is to be mindful of acquiring something that is really needed.