Many museums charge for admission fee while entering. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are educational places which are beneficial for people in societies. However, these days, people have to pay an entrance fee to enter a considerable number of museums. Although this phenomenon can lead to negative effects, I believe that there are more important positive effects. It cannot be denied that the price of tickets can bring about detrimental impacts to people, societies, and museums themselves. From people ’s perspective, they are discouraged from visiting museums and are not able to access useful information and knowledge freely. Particularly, the poor because they cannot afford such great amounts. From society’s perspective, citizens have fewer opportunities to access vitally significant places to learn history, science, art, and many other essential subjects. From museums ’ perspective, they cannot attain one of their objectives - to educate people. Naturally, they may have to close down as they lose more of their customers. However, despite the aforementioned disadvantages, I am convinced that charging for admission figures brings about a myriad of advantages. Firstly, museums will have sufficient sums of money to operate, which covers their business overhead, such as personnel costs, equipment, electricity and water bills. This can in turn lead museums to develop more and implement many recent innovations to serve better. Secondly, museums can generate their own revenue to improve the place effectively to attract people, for example, to update their exhibits and keep the place clean and good-looking. Having visited many museums, many experienced travellers consider that many museums which sell tickets are better than those that do not charge for tickets in terms of places, information, and management. One more benefit is that charging entry fees can lessen the burden of the government in terms of funding museums. Doing so can enable the government to allocate more amounts to other important public areas such as medicine, education and welfare. In conclusion, although I recognize that museum ticket sales can cause drawbacks to stakeholders in societies, I believe that museums should not remain free for all so as to operate and develop more effectively.