Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should be motivated to be competitive, others suggest that instilling a sense of cooperation will be more valueable during their adulthood. Although competition does help children to be successfull, it is more crucial to learn how to cooperate as it develops team work, an important adult skill. If children are taught to be cooperative, they learn the importance of working in a team, which is something adults are expected to do. Through working with others, children learn not only how to respect different opinions but also how to pool their strengths. For instance, preschools include cooperation as one of the first skills in their curriculum as they recognise that it is a vital social skill in all spheres of life. I therefore believe that teaching children to work with others is more important than giving them a sense of competition.