You should spend about 40 minutes on this task : Email has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but its impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the advantages of using e-mail outweigh the disadvantages ? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is certainly true that the use of e-mail has greatly changed the way we communicate with each other at work as well as socially. While it is true that the effects of this innovation has not always been positive, I do think that advantages of using email are more than its drawbacks. (53 words) It is no doubt that email has brought important benefits. One such advantage of using e-mail is that it is a fast and easy way to communicate with family, friends and work colleagues wherever they are in the world. It not only allows people to stay in touch with each other, but it also allows them to send all kinds of information such as pictures, photos, diagrams and texts very quickly, cheaply and with a very good quality of reproduction. This is a huge advance on earlier communication systems, and the low cost of e-mail means it is very widely used. (100 words) In spite of the above positive effects, email has brought some negative aspects as well. A common criticism of this technology is that it causes extra work and stress. This is because employees receive more messages than they can answer every day and since email writers expect a quick response, this further increases pressure on employees. Other objections to email for both social and professional users include the way it encourages people to spend even longer at their computers and also the danger of incoming messages allowing viruses into your computer system. (92 words) To sum up, even though there are some obvious drawbacks to using email, this fast and user-friendly technology has greatly improved our ability to communicate both professionally and socially. Therefore, I think e-mail has brought us many more benefits than disadvantages. (