Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some would argue that zoos must not exist because animals should be free and not in cages. Other people think that zoos are good places to give shelter to feral animals. I believe that zoos are not necessary at these times to see animals enclosed. On one hand, zoos are not necessary to see animals in cages just for human entertainment. Nowadays, there are many TV shows and documentaries where people can watch animals in freedom in their habitats. In fact, with the advent of the internet, it is possible to find out about different animals without the necessity to go to a place to see animals suffering because they are not in their environment. In Buenos Aires’s Zoo, there was a polar bear in bad conditions because the pool with cold water and cage was not enough to keep the bear healthy and welfare expectations of life. In my opinion, these kinds of animals should not stay enclosed in a park in the middle of the city because it is cruel. On the other hand, zoos could be used as a reserve for animals in danger, to protect them and reproduce them. There are many projects to protect hurt or hunted animals. Even though using those areas for reproduction and to free animals to nature. in Argentina there are two projects to save wild animals, in Iguazu Park reserve where biologist ecologists and veterinarians work together to protect the jaguar, and in Buenos Aires’s Zoo where the staff is working hard to reproduce the Andean Condor. I believe that this is how zoos must be used and not as a human fun. In conclusion, zoos are cruel and used as human entertainment. However, are extremely useful if they were used as a reproduction station and as a refuge for animals in danger.